About the Regents

The University is governed by The Regents, which under Article IX, Section 9 of the California Constitution has "full powers of organization and governance" subject only to very specific areas of legislative control. The article states that "the university shall be entirely independent of all political and sectarian influence and kept free therefrom in the appointment of its Regents and in the administration of its affairs."

Board Membership

The Board consists of 26 members as defined in Article IX, Section 9, all of whom have a vote:

  • 18 regents are appointed by the governor for 12-year terms
  • One is a student appointed by the Regents to a one-year term
  • Seven are ex officio members — the Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Speaker of the Assembly, Superintendent of Public Instruction, president and vice president of the Alumni Associations of UC and the UC president.

In addition, two faculty members — the chair and vice chair of the Academic Council — sit on the board as non-voting members.

Board Officers

The Governor is officially the president of the Board of Regents; however, in practice the presiding officer of the Regents is the Chair of the Board, elected from among its body for a one-year term, beginning July 1. The current Chair is Regent Rich Leib and Vice Chair is Regent Gareth Elliott

The Regents appoints Officers of The Regents: the General Counsel; the Chief Investment Officer; the Secretary and Chief of Staff; and the Chief Compliance and Audit Officer.

Former Regents

View a list of individuals (pdf) who have served as Regents of the University of California.

Committees and Meetings

The Regents have eight standing committees and two special committees.

  • Standing Committees: Academic and Student Affairs, Compliance and Audit, Finance and Capital Strategies, Governance, Health Services, Investments, National Laboratories and Public Engagement and Development.
  • Special Committees: Innovation Transfer and Entrepreneurship and Nominations

The Board of Regents meets six times a year, every other month.

Board Officers

Vice Chair Rich Leib

Chair Rich Leib

Gareth Elliott

Vice Chair Gareth Elliott